Spots and Circles …

So, the new (and final!) brief for this year is spots and circles.  Clearly this is a completely open brief and can be interpreted so differently by everyone.  As a starting point, I thought that I would just play around with different medium creating shapes and textures.  Here, I’ve used watercolour on different paper types and then on synthetic fabric.  I’ve also used gouache paints on cotton and ink on wet watercolour paper.  At this point, I have no direction to my design but believe that’s the best way.  Being open to discovery I think is often difficult with deadlines looming but feel that this is the only way for designs to develop.  If I have an instant idea for a brief, it’s never been seen in my final work and I reflect back at that idea and feel relieved that it didn’t make it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

